9.25.2015

The past week has been an extremely busy one.

If you didn’t know, we released the first single “Center My Life” from our upcoming record “This Glorious Grace”!

This has taken lots of time and work, but we are so stoked to have finally started the release process! Here is the live video for the first single, “Center My Life”!

Along with the live videos, we have made tons of other resources to come out with the songs! Each song has a video the explains the story behind the song featuring the writers of the song. These videos are some of my favorite parts of this whole album project. The videos show the heart behind the songs, the theology, and what was happening in these songs and how they came to life. Here is the story behind the song “Center My Life” featuring two of my good friends, Brett Land & Aaron Ivey.

We also have resources for worship pastors and band members for each song as well! This has been my primary focus for the past month or two. For each song on “This Glorious Grace”, we filmed and produced a video of how to play the parts for each instrument used in the song. For example, on “Center My Life”, we made videos on how to play the drums, bass, bass synth, electric guitar, acoustic guitar and keys parts! So needless to say, this has been a huge project for me. Five or six instruments per song, multiplied by eleven songs is between 55 and 66 tutorial videos!

Though this seems like a tedious task, it is one that we know is fruitful. And I know this from personal experience. Four or five years ago, I was using the tutorial videos made by Austin Stone Worship to learn how to play the songs so that I could lead them for my local church. It is an absolute honor to now be the guy making these videos to send out all around the world! Here is one from “Center My Life” featuring my good friend Dietrich Schmidt.

In the past week I have also had the opportunity to lead worship a couple different places. This past Sunday I lead worship for Grace Bible Church Southwood in College Station, Texas. It was a great Sunday being able to encourage the body of Christ, and remind each other the truths of the Gospel! I lead:

Love Shines – Austin Stone Worship

The Lord Our God – Passion

Forever – Kari Jobe

Nothing But the Blood – Hymn

You Are God and You Are Good – Austin Stone Worship

Then on Wednesday I had the privilege of leading for our Austin Stone Worship staff meeting that we call Worship Huddle. Each week we gather as a team and share breakfast, worship and pray together. It was an absolute blessing and honor to get to lead worship for my brothers and sisters on this team, who I look up to as leaders in my life. These men and women have poured into me and I loved getting to encourage and lead them towards Jesus.

Thursday night, we had our monthly Worship Collective. The Worship Collective is a monthly gathering for anyone that helps facilitate corporate worship at the five campuses of The Austin Stone. We have a vibrant and collaborative team of worship leaders, musicians, production teams, visual artists, songwriters and storytellers that are leading our church every single week in adult worship, kids worship, and students worship. And most of them are volunteer! The Worship Collective is the time where we get to serve and pour into our team.

This week we served our team a buffet from a local taco truck and had a word from our Worship Pastor Aaron Ivey. Then we all broke up into our individual campuses (North, South, West, Downtown AM, Downtown PM and St. John) and had a time of worship & prayer. It was a beautiful time and the Lord has absolutely blessed us with an incredible team. Here is a photo from right before all of the team got to dinner taken by my roommate and fellow Worship Resident, Kenny Klinglesmith.

Pre-Collective

I am super thankful that God has allowed me season in the Austin area, and specifically for my time at The Austin Stone Community Church. I’m able to be poured into, sit under incredible teaching, and given the opportunity to taken ownership of things, alongside a team, that are greater than any of us by ourselves.

The Lord does not need us to do His work. He is almighty and surely powerful enough to accomplish whatever He pleases on His own. (Ex: creating the Earth, holding all things together, etc.) But, He has chosen us to walk alongside him and do His work with Him. It is the greatest honor we could have. However, we must depend on His spirit to do the work through us. Without it, we have no chance.

I encourage you this week to seek Jesus more so than you have in the weeks past. To embrace the gifts that He has given you, and join in the work He has laid out for you!

1 Corinthians 12 tells us “to each is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good.” He has given us every spiritual blessing necessary in Christ. We are to be a people empowered and lead by the Holy Spirit. God the Spirit brings all things promised by God the Father, through the purchase made by God the Son. The Spirit inspires the Word of God, enables us to understand, believe and follow His word, guarantees our salvation, and gives us gifts for ministry.

The Church needs your gifts! They are from The Lord.

Leave a Reply

